Case: 19-10011 Document: 00515290165 Page: 1 Date Filed: 01/29/2020

## IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT United States C

United States Court of Appeals Fifth Circuit

FILED

January 29, 2020

Lyle W. Cayce Clerk

\_\_\_\_

No. 19-10011

STATE OF TEXAS; STATE OF ALABAMA; STATE OF ARIZONA; STATE OF FLORIDA; STATE OF GEORGIA; STATE OF INDIANA; STATE OF KANSAS; STATE OF LOUISIANA; STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, by and through Governor Tate Reeves; STATE OF MISSOURI; STATE OF NEBRASKA; STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA; STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA; STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA; STATE OF TENNESSEE; STATE OF UTAH; STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA; STATE OF ARKANSAS; NEILL HURLEY; JOHN NANTZ,

Plaintiffs - Appellees

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA; UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH; HUMAN SERVICES; ALEX AZAR, II, SECRETARY, U.S. DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES; UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF INTERNAL REVENUE; CHARLES P. RETTIG, in his Official Capacity as Commissioner of Internal Revenue,

Defendants - Appellants

STATE OF CALIFORNIA; STATE OF CONNECTICUT; DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA; STATE OF DELAWARE; STATE OF HAWAII; STATE OF ILLINOIS; STATE OF KENTUCKY, ex rel. Andy Beshear, Governor; STATE OF MASSACHUSETTS; STATE OF NEW JERSEY; STATE OF NEW YORK; STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA; STATE OF OREGON; STATE OF RHODE ISLAND; STATE OF VERMONT; STATE OF VIRGINIA; STATE OF WASHINGTON; STATE OF MINNESOTA,

Intervenor Defendants - Appellants

 $^{\rm 1}$  Governor Tate Reeves is substituted pursuant to Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 43(c)(2).

Case: 19-10011 Document: 00515290165 Page: 2 Date Filed: 01/29/2020

No. 19-10011

Appeals from the United States District Court for the Northern District of Texas

Before KING, ELROD, and ENGELHARDT, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

The court having been polled at the request of one of the members of the court and a majority of the judges who are in regular active service and not disqualified not having voted in favor (FED. R. APP. P. 35 and 5TH CIR. R. 35), rehearing en banc is DENIED.<sup>2</sup>

In the poll, 6 judges voted in favor of rehearing en banc, and 8 voted against. Judges Smith, Stewart, Dennis, Graves, Higginson, and Costa voted in favor. Chief Judge Owen and Judges Jones, Elrod, Southwick, Haynes, Willett, Duncan, and Engelhardt voted against.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ Jennifer Walker Elrod

\_\_\_\_\_

Jennifer Walker Elrod

United States Circuit Judge

<sup>2</sup> Judges Ho and Oldham are recused and did not participate in the en banc poll.

2

Case: 19-10011 Page: 1 Date Filed: 01/29/2020 Document: 00515290166

## United States Court of Appeals

FIFTH CIRCUIT OFFICE OF THE CLERK

LYLE W. CAYCE **CLERK** 

TEL. 504-310-7700 600 S. MAESTRI PLACE, Suite 115 **NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130** 

January 29, 2020

MEMORANDUM TO COUNSEL OR PARTIES LISTED BELOW:

No. 19-10011 State of Texas, et al v. USA, et al USDC No. 4:18-CV-167

Enclosed is an order entered in this case.

Sincerely,

LYLE W. CAYCE, Clerk

Kenneth for

Kenneth G. Lotz, Deputy Clerk

Ms. Munera Al-Fuhaid

Mr. Ryan Wolfe Allison

Ms. Ginger Anders

Mr. Peter J. Anthony

Mr. A. Xavier Baker

Mr. Benjamin Battles

Mr. Matthew Joseph Berns

Mr. Jack R. Bierig

Mr. Nathanael Blake

Mr. Kenneth Lee Blalack II

Ms. Kathleen Boergers

Mr. Wade Carr

Mr. Z.W. Julius Chen

Mr. Lawrence Crawford

Mr. Stuart F. Delery Ms. Bridget DiBattista

Mr. Nicholas M. DiCarlo Ms. Margaret Dotzel

Mr. John Allen Eidsmoe Mr. Nimrod Elias

Mr. August E. Flentje

Mr. Benjamin Michael Flowers

Mr. Brian Rene Frazelle

Mr. Matthew Hamilton Frederick

Ms. Elaine Goldenberg

Ms. Brianne Gorod

Ms. Maame Gyamfi

Case: 19-10011 Date Filed: 01/29/2020 Document: 00515290166 Page: 2

- Mr. David J. Hacker
- Ms. Caitlin Joan Halligan
- Mrs. Fadwa A. Hammoud
- Mr. Brooks M. Hanner
- Mr. Kyle Douglas Hawkins

- Mr. Joshua L. Hedrick
  Mr. Matthew S. Hellman
  Mr. Robert E. Henneke
  Ms. Hyland Hunt

- Mr. Scott H. Ikeda Mr. Paige Jennings
- Ms. Michelle Shane Kallen
- Mr. John T. Kitchens
- Mr. Jeremy Kreisberg
- Ms. Maria Rose Lenz
- Mr. Douglas Neal Letter
- Mr. Sean Michael Marotta
- Ms. Catherine M. Masters
- Mr. Steven Travis Mayo
- Mr. Darren Lee McCarty
- Mr. Matthew Robert McGuire
- Mr. Raffi Melkonian
- Mr. Jonathan Meltzer
- Ms. Rachel Miller-Ziegler
- Ms. Karen S. Mitchell Mr. Robert Tadao Nakatsuji
- Mr. Eric Olson
- Mr. William Jeffrey Olson Ms. Neli N. Palma

- Mr. Joseph R. Palmore Ms. Beth Bivans Petronio
- Ms. Lanora Christine Pettit
- Mr. Ashwin Pradyumna Phatak
- Mr. Joseph Rubin
- Mr. Richard Salgado
- Mr. Jaime Santos
- Mr. Andrew Layton Schlafly Mr. William B. Schultz

- Mr. Jay A. Sekulow
  Mr. Pratik A. Shah
  Ms. Kristin Ann Shapiro
  Mr. Samuel Siegel
  Ms. Benna Ruth Solomon

- Ms. Marie Soueid

- Mr. Jeffrey T. Sprung Mrs. Heidi Parry Stern Mr. Todd Barry Tatelman
- Mr. Martin Vincent Totaro
- Ms. Jessica Elaine Underwood
- Ms. Lorraine Alofa Van Kirk
- Ms. Caroline Van Zile
- Mr. Donald B. Verrilli Jr. Mr. Stephen B. Vogel
- Ms. Jessica Willey
- Mr. Daniel W. Wolff
- Ms. Elizabeth Bonnie Wydra
- Mr. David Meir Zionts